Basics of Islam, Part 1

5 Pillars of Islam

Shahada: Profession of Faith, the belief that “There is no god but Allah (God), and Muhammad (PBUH) is the Messenger of Allah (God)” 

Salat: to make the 5 Daily Prayers 

  1. Fajr (before sunrise)
  2. Dhur/Zuhr, (afternoon)
  3. Asr, (mid-day)
  4. Maghreb, (sunset)
  5. ‘Isha (evening) 

Zakat: paying alms to the poor and those in need (social services)

Ramadan: to fast in the month of Ramadan

Hajj: to make the pilgrimage journey to Makkah at least once in your lifetime if you are able to

6 Articles of Faith

1.) Belief in the Oneness of Allah. (Tawheed)

2.) Belief in the Angels of Allah, which are created by Allah from light and that they carry out His commands.

3.) Belief in the Revelations (Books) of Allah, including the Quran, the Torah of Moses/Musa, the Psalms of David, and the original Bible of Jesus (Injil). However, we believe the Quran is the final and complete revelation.

4.) Belief in the Prophets of Allah, including Adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses, Jesus, and Muhammad (PBUH), with Muhammad being the final prophet.

5.) Belief in the Day of Judgment, where every person will be resurrected and held accountable for their actions in this life after their death.

6.) Belief in Premeasurement/Fate/Destiny (Qadar), that everything that happens in this world happens according to Allah’s will. This includes both good and bad actions and events.

Scroll to Top